Scroll Top

What is a “No-Fault” State?

no fault state

There are two types of insurance methods that states choose in the mandates they build for their residents: tort and no-fault. Florida and Massachusetts are both “No-Fault” states. “No-Fault” means that drivers have insurance to cover their own injuries and damage rather than insuring to pay out to the other person. Here are what this means in each state.


Florida’s No-Fault law means that if you have been involved in an accident, you first look to your own insurance coverage under the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to pay 80% of your medical expenses and 60% of your lost wages. Florida requires residents to carry $10,000 worth of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of Property Damage Liability (PDL).

Consider the PIP coverage that comes from your insurance your primary insurance. For any medical expenses or lost wages not covered by your PIP insurance, Florida law permits legal claims against the at-fault driver or vehicle owner. In addition to recovering your losses, the law allows you to claim for other damages such as pain and suffering, mental anguish, inability to work, and disability or other physical impairment.


Massachusetts’ covered amount is different than Florida. MA law affords PIP coverage for medical bills, lost wages and related expenses up to $8,000. However, if you have private health insurance and the medical bills are over $2,000, the excess amount is first submitted to health insurance.  If health insurance denies the claim, PIP will cover the remainder up to $8,000.

Ahava Law Group will help you better understand your rights. Our experience has taught us how to get you the maximum damages you are entitled – covering everything from treatment and care to funeral costs, from emotional and mental trauma to physical pain and disfigurement, from property damage to loss of earnings. From the second we work together, we are your advocate; all the way from protecting accident evidence as a first step, to ensuring you receive just payment as the last.

Call Ahava Law Group Today: 888-KLG-9998 (888-554-9998)

Related Posts